web analytics





From the outset, early in 2010, we have had enormous and enthusiastic support from many quarters; from all of the chairs and their teams; from our mayors, Cllr. Michael Crowe
 Mayor of Galway city and from Galway County Mayor, Cllr. Jimmy McClearn;  our city & county managers, Joe O'Neill and Martina Moloney; from GMIT 
Presidents Marion Coy and Jim Fennell, and NUIG President Jim Browne; from Galway Chamber & CEO Michael Coyle and from the many individuals
 who have put shoulder to the wheel in preparing for the initiative. We have also been
 greatly encouraged by the very positive support of all the local media and engagement from right across the spectrum of pillars that the initiative addresses. Our sincere
 thanks to each and every one.

Paul Shelly & Rory O’Connor      Sept 2010


Galway 2040 Steering Team at April 30 2011:

Paul Shelly, Rory O’Connor, Jim Fennell, Kevin Leyden, Michael Coyle,Pádraic Fogarty,  Carmel Dooley, Dave O’Connell, Máirín O’Reilly,  Nicola Hampson, Jim Ward, Chris Taylor.


Pillar Teams:

Social Cohesion: Joe Cunningham,

Rachel Doyle, Declan Brassill,…


Wellbeing & Health: Neil Johnstone

Tom Brennan, Kevin Leyden,, Gerry Burke, Deirdre Byrne, Olivia Roxby


Education: Sean McDonagh,

Jim Ward, Bernard O’Hara,Pat Fottrell, Gay Corr


Sports & Recreation: tba


Culture: Pádraic Breathnach,

Máiréad Ní Chróinín, Ollie Jennings,Fidelma Mullane,

Lelia Doolin, Joe McDonagh, Carmel Dooley,..


Environment & Infrastructure: David Heffernan,

James O’Donnell, Peter Keavney, Michael Mooney,Peter McCabe


Agri-Food: Michael Cuddy,

Padraic Divilly, Barry Donnelly, Brendan Dunford, Maria Heneghan, Martin McGarrigle, Michael McMahon, Anne Mitchell, Cathal O’Donoghue, Séamus Sheridan


Port & Dockland: Brian Sheridan,

John Killeen, Jim Browne, Peter Heffernan, Marion Coy, Jim Murren, Eamon Bradshaw


Tourism: Fiona Monaghan,

Brian Bourke, John Crumlish, Paul Gill,…


Enterprise: Mark Gantly,

Gerry Kilcommins, Padraic Curtis, Mike Turley, Mike Conroy, Shay Garvey, Joey Mason


Marine & Energy: Mike Devane,

Barbara Fogarty, Brian Barrett, Cathal O’ Donoghue

Colin Brown, Dermot Hurst, Eugene Lavelle, Frank Grealish, Ilaria Nardello, Joe Greaney, Karyn Morrissey,

Neill Killeen, Padraic Fogarty, Peter Tyndall, Stephen Hynes, Steve O Culain, Yvonne Shields


Research: Terry Smith,

Nicholas Allen, Orla Baxter,Colin Brown, Lindsay Cody, Gavin Collins, Patrick Collins, James Cunningham, Patrick Delassus, Patrick Dolan, Mark Johnson, Lokesh Joshi, Kevin Leyden, Patrick Lonergan, Peter McHugh,Vincent O’Flaherty, Gearoid O’Laighin, Abhay Pandit,Tom Scharf, Rod Stoneman, Frank Sullivan